64 E Broadway, Derry NH | 03038 | (603) 432-6140 | Hours

Free or discounted admission to many local museums.  Click here to learn more.

Join a group or find a good book.

Trying to figure out what to read next? Our librarians can help! Click here for more informaiton.

Research databases available to all cardholders - have your card number and PIN ready! 

Welcome to our library of online videos! Here you will find helpful and entertaining videos created by our talented librarians.

Groups and Clubs

Book and Film Group meetings are currently being held virtually.

Beginner Ukulele Group (Summer Group):

Have you always wanted to play the ukulele? Or, do you have a ukulele and have always wanted to play it with others?  Come join our ukulele group! We will play very beginner friendly songs and see if we can make some music together. All experience levels welcome! Bring your ukulele, or borrow one from the library.

We will meet on the library’s new patio, weather permitting. There will be no rain date.

Registration is required for each month.  Register here!

Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org, 603-432-6140) if you have any questions.

  • Wednesday, May 26, 2021 – 6pm
  • Wednesday, June 23, 2021 – 6pm
  • Wednesday, July 28, 2021 – 6pm
  • Wednesday, August 25, 2021 – 6pm

Wednesday Book Group:

Please join us for an online book discussion. We read a variety of books and love to talk about them! 

Registration is required so that you can join us virtually. Register here!

Meetings will be held at 6:30 pm. We will contact you 1 hour prior to the event with instructions and a link. Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org) if you have any questions.

Please contact the library to inquire about borrowing the book for each meeting.

  • Wednesday, May 19, 2021 - Owls of the Eastern Ice by Jonathan C. Slaght
  • Wednesday, June 16, 2021 - Conjure Women by Afia Atakora
  • Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - One Hunderd Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Wednesday, August 18, 2021 - Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell
  • Wednesday, September 15, 2021 - Caste by Isabel Wilkerson

 

Cookbook Book Group (Summer Group):

Do you enjoy cooking? Do you love to read cookbooks? Come join us for our afternoon Cookbook Book Group! We will choose a new cookbook for each meeting and make something at home to bring in and share! Discuss tips, tricks, troubles, and eat! Cookbooks will be available to borrow at the front desk.

We will meet outside on the new library patio at 11:30 am, weather permitting. There will be no rain date.

Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org, 603-432-6140) if you have any questions.

  • Friday, June 4, 2021 – 365: No Repeats by Rachael Ray
  • Friday, July 9, 2021 - Vegetables Illustrated by America's Test Kitchen
  • Friday, August 6, 2021 - Falastin by Sami Tamimi
  • Friday, September 17, 2021 - Art of the Pie by Kate McDermott

 

    Documentary Film Group:

Please join us for an online discussion of Documentary films. Do you enjoy learning while being entertained? Do you wish Ken Burns could be your best friend? If so, this is the group for you!

Registration is required so that you can join us virtually. Register here!

Meetings will be held at 6:30 pm. We will contact you 1 hour prior to the event with instructions and a link. Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org) if you have any questions.

Please contact the library to inquire about borrowing the movie for each meeting.

  • Tuesday, May 25, 2021 - Searching for Sugar Man
  • Tuesday, June 22, 2021 - The Amish
  • Tuesday, July 27, 2021 - No Meeting
  • Tuesday, August 24, 2021 - Fog of War
  • Tuesday, September 28, 2021 - Eagle Huntress
  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021 - Collectiv 


Feel-Good Book Group:

Do you want to be uplifted when you read? Do you know that the best medicine for a dreary day is a good cup of tea and some Fredrick Backman, or Rachel Joyce? Join us for the Feel-Good book group. We will read books that will leave us feeling hopeful, happy, and full in heart. And then we will meet virtually (with a good cup of tea), and talk about how beautiful life can be!

Meetings will be held at 6:30pm. We will contact you 1 hour prior to the event with instructions and a link. Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org) if you have any questions.

Registration is required so you can join us virtually. Register here!

Please contact the library about borrowing the book for each meeting.
 
  • Tuesday, May 18, 2021 - House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune
  • Tuesday, June 15, 2021 - How to Stop Time by Matt Haig
  • Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman
  • Tuesday, August 17, 2021 - Dear Mrs. Bird by A.J. Pearce
  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021 - Wesley the Owl by Stacey O'Brien

Popular History Book Group:
 
Please join us for an online discussion of books about popular history! Do you love history? So do we! Join us as we make our way through the pages of the past!
 
Registration is required so that you can join us virtually. Register here!

This group will meet monthly. Meetings will be held at 6:30 pm. We will contact you 1 hour prior to the event with instructions and a link. Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org) if you have any questions. 

Please contact the library to inquire about borrowing the book for each meeting. 
  • Tuesday, June 1, 2021 - Damnation Island by Stacy Horn
  • Tuesday, July 6, 2021 - Wright Brothers by David McCullough
  • Tuesday, August 3, 2021 - Agent Sonya by Ben Macintyre
  • Tuesday, September 7, 2021 - Polio: An American Story by David M. Oshinsky
  • Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harai

IFC Film Group:

Please join us for an online discussion of Independent, Foreign, and Classic films. We will watch the film at home and gather to discuss it!

Registration is required so that you can join us virtually. Register here!

Meetings will be held at 6:30 pm. We will contact you 1 hour prior to the event with instructions and a link. Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org) if you have any questions.

Please contact the library to inquire about borrowing the movie for each meeting.

  • Wednesday, June 9, 2021 - Nakom
  • Wednesday, July 14, 2021 - Tomboy
  • Wednesday, August 11, 2021 - Black Panther
  • Wednesday, September 8, 2021 - Departures

Paint Night at the Library (Summer Group):

Join us for some beginner, guided fine art projects! Each month we will complete a different painting that you can take home. 

We will meet on the library’s new patio, weather permitting. There will be no rain date.

Registration is required for each month. Registration will open 2 weeks before each meeting date. Register here!

Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org, 603-432-6140) if you have any questions.

  • Wednesday, June 2, 2021 – 6pm
  • Wednesday, July 7, 2021 – 6pm
  • Wednesday, August 4, 2021 – 6pm

Poetry Group:
 
We all write poems; it is simply that poets are the ones who write in words” – John Fowles
 

Do you enjoy poetry and wish you could talk about it with someone? Or, do you wish you understood poetry and what it was trying to say? Then join our monthly, pressure-free discussion group where we tiptoe and soar through the world of the word!

Registration is required so that you can join us virtually. Register here!

This group will meet monthly. Meetings will be held at 6:30 pm. We will contact you 1 hour prior to the event with instructions and a link. Please contact Jessica (jessicad@derrypl.org) if you have any questions.

Please contact the library to inquire about borrowing the materials for each meeting.

  • Tuesday, April 6, 2021 – Louise Gluck – The Wild Iris
  • Tuesday, June 8, 2021 - Joy Harjo - An American Sunrise
  • Tuesday, July 13, 2021 - Margaret Atwood - Dearly
  • Tuesday, August 10, 2021 - Robert Frost - The Poetry of Robert Frost
  • Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - Tracy K. Smith - Wade in the Water